Snort - Blocked Hosts lost after upgrade/reboot



  • Not 100% sure about reboot but after upgrade Snort/Blocked Hosts list had been deleted.
    Is it a glitch or there is an option to persist it?

    Thx



  • No, the blocks are stored in a pf table called snort2c.  That table is created by the pfSense code at startup and maintained in RAM.  On a reboot, it is dumped and recreated fresh but empty.  Persisting blocks has not real benefit anyway.  If Snort blocked the traffic once, it will block it the next time it sees it.  So why persist across reboots and add all that complexity to the code?

    Bill


Log in to reply