pfSense on QNAP NAS

• I'm thinking of buying a QNAP NAS and would like to run pfSense on it (want to reduce the number of devices on my network rack). As everyone knows, Netgate just released pfSense for use on certain QNAP models through its "Virtualization Station" app. Although it's only been out a week, I was wondering if anyone's had a chance to look at it. I'm new to QNAP (as well as pfSense) and I'm wondering how involved it would be to set up. From what I've read, it seems pretty straightforward, but reality is often different. 😏

Also, since this runs on a VM, which has it's own overhead, I'm wondering how much processing power the NAS will need to run pfSense with basic security services (like Snort, pfBlocker, OpenVPN, LightSquid), as well as all the storage duties, without throttling my 100/10Mbps bandwidth. The NAS models I'm considering are TS-473 (AMD RX-421ND cpu, 4635 passmark) and TS-677 (AMD Ryzen 5-1600, 12298 passmark). The TS-473 is less than half the cost, so I would prefer it if it can handle this.

Thanks for any feedback. I hope this is a reasonable thing to try.

• Hello there,

I recently started putting the pfsense on the ts-677. With basic configuration as provided by QNAP installation guide. I was able to get 940 Mbps and 7 Mbps despite the fact that I have 1Gbit both ways internet. I need to do more testing. But it looks promising. In addition, there are other threads on here that are related to this topic. Hope this will help you.

https://forum.netgate.com/topic/95439/virtualized-pfsense-on-qnap-nas

• @brother_scud said in pfSense on QNAP NAS:

Hello there,

I recently started putting the pfsense on the ts-677. With basic configuration as provided by QNAP installation guide. I was able to get 940 Mbps and 7 Mbps despite the fact that I have 1Gbit both ways internet. I need to do more testing. But it looks promising. In addition, there are other threads on here that are related to this topic. Hope this will help you.