New GPS for NTP server

• I have been using a Sure GPS now for many years.

Built a new PFSense box here recently and purchased:

1 - NEO-8M GPS Satellite Positioning Module for Arduino STM32 C51 replace NEO-7M (Ebay)
    2 - TTL RS-232 board and wired PPS to Pin #1 on RS-232

Programmed the board using NMEA 4.0

Configured in PFSense as a U-Blox / 9600 baud all sentences for time bean.
    I see the NMEA sentences fine via cat gps0.

First time I connected it it worked fine and saw number of satellites et al.

Then I played with the GPS some and now cannot see the satellite view.

I do see the sentences that indicate number of satellites seen.

Anybody using one of these?

• Replying to my own post figured out (guessing mostly) the configuration with the Neo-8M GPS Satellite board U-Blox Windows programming software.

gps.jpg

Will post configuration used to make this work for me.

• Thanks Pete: I for one am watching this thread with interest. :)

• LAYER 8 Global Moderator

I would think multiple people would be interested in a full write up of how to do this..

You have to do some soldering I'm guessing to get this all connected?

• Did do a short write up on another forum a while ago. The easiest part of this endeavor was soldering for the PPS signal.

Original documentation used is located here for Sure GPS.

hxxps://satsignal.eu/ntp/Sure-GPS.htm

PFSense computer:

qotomcomputer.jpg

This was done for a family member. Doing another one here to replace my current PFSense box with 6 Intel Gb ports. This box should fit nicely inside of my Leviton Media panel (42"). Do a primary ISP connection here with a cellular modem failover. (network and phone line).

Parts list:

1 - GPS with PPS for time sync via serial port

GPS with RS-232 with PPS - NEO-8M GPS Satellite Positioning Module for Arduino STM32 C51 $7.49 (Ebay)
    GPS3.jpg

2 - GPS Antenna (optional)
    gpsantenna.jpg

3 - TTL to RS-232 converter Amazon ($7.00)
    GPS2.jpg