Xbox 360 Won't connect to network or Xbox Live

• Hello guys, I'm a new PFSense user so I'm very new to the interface. I just set up my first PFSense router/firewall and so far everything is working with 1 exception. The Xbox 360.

I've read the sticky and attempted those steps without luck (I've attempted static, and also UPnP settings suggested). However, my base problem is a little different. Since setting up the PFSense router, my Xbox doesn't even detect that a cable is plugged in. From what I can see in the logs it doesn't even attempt to pick up an address, and when it is set to a static never even shows online.

The Xbox 360 device thinks that there is no cable plugged in. I have a spare bridge that I used to test the port on the 360 and when it's plugged into the bridge it detects the cable and allows me to set a static address. However, once I switch the cable back it does not ever connect to the network.

I would greatly appreciate any advice here.

• How is the 360 connected to your Pfsense box? Are you coming out of the Pfsense box on your lan port and connecting to a switch or are you connecting the Pfsense box directly to your Xbox? Remember that connecting like devices require a cross over cable unless your device has MDIX.

• I've tried a few ways. My PFSense is connected to a switch in my basement near where the patch panel for my house is.

So my connection is basically - Xbox -> Switch -> PFSense

I've also tried it through my WAP which has some Lan ports and is in the same area as my Xbox and has a few other devices that are able to successfully connect (DirectTV reciever, PS3, and AT&T Microcell). It acts the same way… like it doesn't detect the cable. In this scenario it would be Xbox -> WAP Lan port -> Switch -> PFSense.

• @Dexterryu:

Hello guys, I'm a new PFSense user so I'm very new to the interface. I just set up my first PFSense router/firewall and so far everything is working with 1 exception. The Xbox 360.