Delete active online DHCP lease



  • From the webgui, I can't delete an active DHCP lease if the machine is marked online from active view.
    However if I switch to "show all configured leases" I then have the option to delete a lease for a machine that's online.

    Is it intended to only be able to do it from one and not the other?



  • Deleting a DHCP lease for and active online machine will not disconnect that machine. It will put the ip back in the pool as available and there is a chance the ip will be given out to another machine causing a conflict.



  • @tjsummers51l:

    Deleting a DHCP lease for and active online machine will not disconnect that machine. It will put the ip back in the pool as available and there is a chance the ip will be given out to another machine causing a conflict.

    I agree fully to this, but …  ;)
    I don't think a DHCP server is that stupid.
    I thought that there was a ARP/PING/Whatever broadcast on the network segment before the DHCP is sending out a 'free' IP to a device that send out a DHCP-IP request.

    Anyway, freeing a lease from a device that's still active on the network is like removing the cables from an elevator while clients are still in the 'box' .....



  • I'm aware of why not to do it.

    I'm asking if it's intentional that it shows up in one view but not the other, when for the sake of those specific machines, those views are the same.  (The difference being showing inactive leases)