PfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL


  • Moderator

    From your logs… Something is blocking the MaxMind download... So need to see what is causing that...

    Downloading MaxMind GeoIP databases. This may take a minute...
     GeoIP.dat... cURL Error: 60.  cURL Error: 60.  cURL Error: 60.  Failed!
    MaxMind download Failed! Fetching MaxMind archive from pfSense package repo...
    /tmp/countrycodes.tar.bz2      
    

    The backup archive that is located on pfSense's servers is a little out of date… I should fix that.

    Here is one of the files that you can test with to see why its failing to download:
    https://geolite.maxmind.com/download/geoip/database/GeoLite2-Country-CSV.zip

    MaxMind does rate-limit if you attempt too many downloads in a day...



  • So, I don't wanna be one the one to ask this, but I am so eager to try 3.0. Any update when this will be released?  I just did a clean install of the newest pfSense and like the changes and fixes in place but I didn't think to save all my config etc before I did it. (I know, really dumb of me). Would this of worked anyway? It's really tedious going through and looking for the lists again, so I'm feeling hopeful here it's coming soon as I really love pfBlockerNG and the work you do BBCan177!!! :)


  • Moderator

    @StylesNZ:

    So, I don't wanna be one the one to ask this, but I am so eager to try 3.0. Any update when this will be released?  I just did a clean install of the newest pfSense and like the changes and fixes in place but I didn't think to save all my config etc before I did it. (I know, really dumb of me). Would this of worked anyway? It's really tedious going through and looking for the lists again, so I'm feeling hopeful here it's coming soon as I really love pfBlockerNG and the work you do BBCan177!!! :)

    Thanks,  I am hoping to get this out shortly… Just trying to clean up a couple loose ends.... Stay tuned!



  • @BBcan177:

    Thanks,  I am hoping to get this out shortly… Just trying to clean up a couple loose ends.... Stay tuned!

    maybe as a cristmas gift @bbcan ?  ::) ::)
    really look forward to your release


  • Moderator

    @Deadpool:

    @BBcan177:

    Thanks,  I am hoping to get this out shortly… Just trying to clean up a couple loose ends.... Stay tuned!

    maybe as a cristmas gift @bbcan ?  ::) ::)
    really look forward to your release

    Probably after the Holidays… Just been really crazy busy lately...  :(



  • Hi,

    I have a custom IPV4 Denny List
    On Custom Address(es) I have 9 IPs but only 7 off them are been loaded
    5.9.110.236
    54.207.50.1
    187.17.111.97
    169.45.117.93
    96.6.123.19
    104.16.84.55
    104.16.83.55
    162.243.102.114
    187.61.117.226

    These two are not loading, I try to change order, set "Update Custom List" on drop down, etc.
    5.9.110.236
    162.243.102.114

    Any ideas?

    Thanks



  • Did you ran a Force Update and a Force Reload IP ?
    Look at the pfblockerng.log, error.log to see what is happening when that Table is loaded?
    Does these IPs get whitelisted?



  • Hi,

    I found that on log:

    [ Denny_list_custom ] Downloading update  . completed ..
      –----------------------------
      Original Master    Final   
      ------------------------------
      9        7          7          [ Pass ]

    I realize that the IP 162.243.102.114 are included in another entry as member of AS14061

    But not find any conflict on the IP 5.9.110.236

    Thanks.



  • Maybe it's already in another Table

    grep "5.9.110.236" /var/db/pfblockerng/deny/*
    

    or using a different range

    grep "5.9.110" /var/db/pfblockerng/deny/*
    grep "5.9.11" /var/db/pfblockerng/deny/*
    grep "5.9.1" /var/db/pfblockerng/deny/*
    grep "5.9." /var/db/pfblockerng/deny/*
    


  • Bingo

    I find it on: /var/db/pfblockerng/deny/IBlock_Proxy.txt:5.9.110.236exi

    But I have one server communicating on port 123 with that IP, believe are one NTP server.

    Why are not blocking it?



  • I'm having problems with iOS 11.3 BETA. It seems that safari can't go to 0.0.0.0 and pages can't load. Solution was to reinstall package and use the VIP address, as I was using the certificate hack and 0.0.0.0.

    EDIT: Sorry, wrong version. I'm on 2.1.



  • earlier this month 1.1.1.1 (DNS server) was announced.
    I noticed I can use their backup server 1.0.0.1 but cannot use 1.1.1.1

    I have read that it is because of pfblockerNG, I tried the suggested edit from shell

    https://www.reddit.com/r/PFSENSE/comments/88wg6g/issue_with_pfblockerng_dnsbl_and_cloudflares_1111/

    sed -i '' 's/1.1.1.1/1.1.1.2/g' /usr/local/pkg/pfblockerng/pfblockerng.sh

    but it does not seem to have worked, any help is appreciated.



  • You have to do a Force Reload All when you change this IP.



  • Did charting make it into this release? I can't seem to find it.

    https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=144733.msg787832#msg787832



  • I've just set this up, and the blocker is indeed very effective!
    At the moment I'm using the DNSBL part only but so far it's impressive.

    The only thing missing at the moment is the DNS blocking for IPv6 content. For example on Youtube.
    As I understand this would be a new future for the upcoming 3.0 release, if so then I'm eager to try it out.

    Thanks for your work on pfBlockerNG and your support, it's a must have for PfSense.

    Cheers.

    Edit:
    I should have posted this in the pfBlockerNG 2.1 topic, that's the actual version installed on my pfsense box.



  • Hi do you have any guide or tutorial for the new version of pfblockerng w/ dnsbl.
    Kindly please share.

    Thanks





  • Fatal error: Call to undefined function pfb_alerts_default_page() in /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng_general.php on line 96 PHP ERROR: Type: 1, File: /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng_general.php, Line: 96, Message: Call to undefined function pfb_alerts_default_page()
    Help???


  • Moderator

    @sashazt said in PfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL:

    Fatal error: Call to undefined function pfb_alerts_default_page() in /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng_general.php on line 96 PHP ERROR: Type: 1, File: /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng_general.php, Line: 96, Message: Call to undefined function pfb_alerts_default_page()
    Help???

    Strange error... Looks like it didn't install properly... Do you have enough hard drive space? Try to remove/reinstall the package.



  • It looks like a PHP Opcache issue. Simply reboot pfsense after upgrade. Then it works.


  • Moderator

    @sashazt said in PfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL:

    Fatal error: Call to undefined function pfb_alerts_default_page() in /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng_general.php on line 96 PHP ERROR: Type: 1, File: /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng_general.php, Line: 96, Message: Call to undefined function pfb_alerts_default_page()

    Can you confirm if you are on pfSense 2.4.3? or 2.4.4?

    Also did this occur when you upgraded pfBlockerNG-devel? or was this a new installation of pfBlockerNG-devel?



  • @bbcan177 I'm running pfsense 2.4.3-RELEASE-p1 and upgraded from pfBlockerNG 2.1.4_9 to 2.2.5_11 (dev). There are no installation errors but it looks like that the PHP files are cached due opcache.

    $ php -v
    PHP 5.6.34 (cli) (built: Mar 16 2018 16:55:46) 
    Copyright (c) 1997-2016 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.6.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2016 Zend Technologies
        with Zend OPcache v7.0.6-dev, Copyright (c) 1999-2016, by Zend Technologies
        with Suhosin v0.9.38, Copyright (c) 2007-2015, by SektionEins GmbH
    


  • @overloader is your php using opcache.validate_timestamps=0?
    If it doesn't opcache should be able to check the modified timestamp and regenerate the cache.


    I found out a little issue with a feed blocking it's own IP, funny.

    Info regarding the feed
    PRI4 - CCT_IP - https[:]//cybercrime-tracker[.]net/fuckerz.php - 213.186.33.3

    I'll drop an email and report it directly to the list owner, till here easy.


    However the main gateway is still able to connect and download from that IP.

    pfSense gateway - pfBlockerNG Reports
    Sep 4 10:00:47 WIFI pfB_PRI4_v4 (1770006077) 192.168.20.103:44188 213.186.33.3:443 cluster015.ovh.net TCP:S

    pfSense test box on WIFI vlan - 192.168.20.103 - pfBlockerNG error.log
    [ pfB_PRI4_v4 - CCT_IP_v4 ] Download FAIL [ 09/04/18 10:00:53 ] Firewall and/or IDS (Legacy mode only) are not blocking download.

    Inbound interface is WAN

    • Advanced inbound on OpenPorts alias
    • Advanced outbound any any - as default
    • Floating rules deny both directions

    Outbound interfaces, all including WAN

    • Advance inbound/outbound as default
    • Floating rules denying both directions

    Pinging the IP from WAN correctly fails so pfB rules are working, but why is it still able to download, or is pfBlockerNG able to circumvent it's own block lists.

    I was only able to found out the feed blocking it's own IP only because I was synching to the client.

    Cheers



  • I'm looking to get started with PfBlockerNG but am confused as to which version I should get started with, the "dev" version or the stable one? Any pointers on differences between the two will be immensely helpful.

    Thanks.


  • Moderator

    @ibbetsion said in PfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL:

    I'm looking to get started with PfBlockerNG but am confused as to which version I should get started with, the "dev" version or the stable one? Any pointers on differences between the two will be immensely helpful.

    https://forum.netgate.com/topic/135708/is-pfblockerng-devel-stable



  • @bbcan177 said in PfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL:

    @ibbetsion said in PfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL:

    I'm looking to get started with PfBlockerNG but am confused as to which version I should get started with, the "dev" version or the stable one? Any pointers on differences between the two will be immensely helpful.

    https://forum.netgate.com/topic/135708/is-pfblockerng-devel-stable

    Thank you.



  • I love it and it even has the BBC in the list lol
    I am I dying to get more Anti corp lists like what you see on filterlist.com because of spying but I get a lot of :

    [ pfB_PRI1_v4 - BBC_C2_Agr_v4 ] Download FAIL [ 02/03/19 11:04:34 ] 
    [ pfB_PRI1_v4 - Talos_BL_v4 ] Download FAIL [ 02/03/19 11:04:19 ]
    [ pfB_PRI1_v4 - CINS_army_v4 ] Download FAIL [ 02/03/19 11:04:02 ]
    [ pfB_PRI1_v4 - BBC_C2_v4 ] Download FAIL [ 02/03/19 11:03:46 ]
    [ DNSBL_NSA - NSAblocklist1 ] Download FAIL [ 02/03/19 11:03:30 ]
    [ DNSBL_facebook - FB2 ] Download FAIL [ 02/03/19 11:03:15 ]

    and this

    [ BBC_C2_Agr_v4 ] Downloading update . cURL Error: 60
    SSL certificate problem: self signed certificate Retry in 5 seconds...
    . cURL Error: 60
    SSL certificate problem: self signed certificate Retry in 5 seconds...
    . cURL Error: 60
    SSL certificate problem: self signed certificate Retry in 5 seconds...
    .. unknown http status code | 0

    [ pfB_PRI1_v4 - BBC_C2_Agr_v4 ] Download FAIL [ 02/03/19 11:04:34 ]
    [ osint.bambenekconsulting.com ] Domain listed in DNSBL

    The Following List has been REMOVED [ BBC_C2_Agr_v4 ]

    and I have no idea if I'm doing something wrong or it's just the site?

    or its because it's not in the right format?

    But its still going great and so much simpler to use.
    Great work.

    I do wonder if this is 0.0.0.0 example.com is ok to put as a list?
    I could just ake my own list but then they would not get updated.

    I want to block all companies like google, apple, Microsoft, NSA Government, and so on.
    I just use a paiid vpn to reach the outside world.



  • @anttechs edit filerlist to filterlists ;)

    About the failed downloads, if i remember right some list does include other list' IP, so if you have WAN as Outbound interface in pfBlockerNG these IPs are going to be blocked. The same should apply for the SSL error.



  • Many thanks ;)
    I'm still learning everyday lol
    mines on LAN Outbound Firewall Rules reject.
    but Wan is set to default

    I think I get it

    I disabled TLD because I had .com and most of the others in there, I may be going over the top lol



  • @anttechs said in PfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL:

    Many thanks ;)

    You're welcome

    I disabled TLD because I had .com and most of the others in there

    Yeap, that would be it!

    Cheers


Log in to reply