PfBlockerNG v2.1 w/TLD



  • @BBcan177:

    @CiscoX:

    After updating to 2.1.1_2 i can't "clear DNSBL Packets" from the pfBlockerNG widge
    The DNSBL_EasyList won't delete the packets

    I am away for a few weeks but will check that out. Seems like some regression somewhere. Thanks for reporting.

    Hi, No problem. Have a nice Holiday :)



  • Hi there I followed this guide, http://fredmerc.com/2016/07/15/pfsense-adblock-using-pfblockerng-guide/ a rather short setup, there is only DNSBL and no IP4 is that new or is this guide missing it? Thanks for any help.



  • @Qinn:

    Hi there I followed this guide, http://fredmerc.com/2016/07/15/pfsense-adblock-using-pfblockerng-guide/ a rather short setup, there is only DNSBL and no IP4 is that new or is this guide missing it? Thanks for any help.

    Here are the original pfBlockerNG thread https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=86212.0
    and the pfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL thread https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=102470



  • I am getting this error when I try to use the Spamhaus list in this tread.

    ===[  DNSBL Process  ]================================================

    [ EasywoElements ] exists.
    [ SpamHouse_TLDS ] Downloading update .. 200 OK
      Remote timestamp missing .
      –--------------------------------------------------------------------
      Orig.    Unique    # Dups    # White    # Alexa    Final               
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------
      3        3          0          0          0          3                   
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    [ DNSBL FAIL ] [ Skipping : SpamHouse_TLDS ]

    [1470071701] unbound-checkconf[87654:0] error: error parsing local-data at 38 '(xmlhttp.readystate 60 IN A 10.10.10.1': Syntax error, could not parse the RR
    [1470071701] unbound-checkconf[87654:0] error: Bad local-data RR (xmlhttp.readystate 60 IN A 10.10.10.1
    [1470071701] unbound-checkconf[87654:0] fatal error: failed local-zone, local-data configuration
    [ Malware_1month ] Downloading update [ 08/01/16 12:15:01 ] .. 200 OK
      Remote timestamp missing .
      –--------------------------------------------------------------------
      Orig.    Unique    # Dups    # White    # Alexa    Final               
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------
      1221    956        0          0          0          956                 
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    [ Malware_1week ] Downloading update [ 08/01/16 12:15:04 ] .. 200 OK
      Remote timestamp missing .
      –--------------------------------------------------------------------
      Orig.    Unique    # Dups    # White    # Alexa    Final               
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------
      526      487        487        0          0          0                   
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    [ Malware_1day ] Downloading update [ 08/01/16 12:15:05 ] .. 200 OK
      Remote timestamp missing .
      –--------------------------------------------------------------------
      Orig.    Unique    # Dups    # White    # Alexa    Final               
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------
      48      47        47        0          0          0                   
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    [ Malware_1hour ] Downloading update .. 200 OK
      Remote timestamp missing
    No Domains Found

    –----------------------------------------
    Assembling database... completed
    Executing TLD
    TLD analysis. completed
    Finalizing TLD...  completed

    Original    Matches    Removed    Final

    6062        5530      1          6061

    Validating database... completed [ 08/01/16 12:15:08 ]
    Reloading Unbound…. completed
    DNSBL update [ 6061 | PASSED  ]… completed



  • Which Spamhaus URL are you using ?
    this https://www.spamhaus.org/statistics/tlds/ is just a web page, not a feed DNSBL can use.

    as for the H3X, only one is needed
    https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=115357.msg643896#msg643896

    And do a Force Reload after making the modifications.



  • @RonpfS:

    Which Spamhouse URL are you using ?
    this https://www.spamhaus.org/statistics/tlds/ is just a web page, not a feed DNSBL can use.

    as for the H3X, only one is needed
    https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=115357.msg643896#msg643896

    And do a Force Reload after making the modifications.

    Thank you.
    i see my mistake now.
    I was certain I had 2 feeds that contained data but I must have misplaced it?



  • Read the first posts (or more  ;)) of each of these threads:
    pfBlockerNG
    pfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL
    pfBlockerNG v2.1 w/TLD

    You will find some posts about IP and DNSBL Feed.



  • First of all thank you very much for your hard work and this awesome package!

    I was just wondering is it possible to somehow change the Rule Order setting to something like:
    pfB_Pass/Match | pfB_Block/Reject | All other Rules | (original format)
    so the first IP-list would be the whitelist?

    Right now I can't seem to figure out how to make custom LAN IPv4 whitelist (Permit_Outbound) rule to be the first in the rule list of the LAN interface. If I manually move it first. Next list update puts it bellow the blocklists (Deny_Outbound) again. Right now only the default setting | pfB_Block/Reject | All other Rules | (Original format) is partly usable for me (whitelist won't work) and all other rule order settings just mess my original LAN rules.

    I use Traffic Shaper queues in the floating rules so prefer not to move pfBlockerNG's rules in there too.

    Is this somehow possible or what am I missing, thanks?



  • Which version are you using ?

    with pfBlockerNG 2.1.1_2 I have these choices.

    And you can still use the Floating Rules, it won't affect the Traffic Shaper rules.




  • @Heimire:

    @RonpfS:

    Which Spamhouse URL are you using ?
    this https://www.spamhaus.org/statistics/tlds/ is just a web page, not a feed DNSBL can use.

    as for the H3X, only one is needed
    https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=115357.msg643896#msg643896

    And do a Force Reload after making the modifications.

    Thank you.
    i see my mistake now.
    I was certain I had 2 feeds that contained data but I must have misplaced it?

    The https://www.spamhaus.org/statistics/tlds/ page can be useful to find TLD to put in the TLD Blacklist.



  • There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:37: cannot define table pfB_Europe_v6: Cannot allocate memory - The line in question reads [37]: table <pfB_Europe_v6> persist file "/var/db/aliastables/pfB_Europe_v6.txt" @ 2016-07-31 14:55:00
    There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:37: cannot define table pfB_Europe_v6: Cannot allocate memory - The line in question reads [37]: table <pfB_Europe_v6> persist file "/var/db/aliastables/pfB_Europe_v6.txt" @ 2016-07-31 14:55:11
    There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:37: cannot define table pfB_Europe_v6: Cannot allocate memory - The line in question reads [37]: table <pfB_Europe_v6> persist file "/var/db/aliastables/pfB_Europe_v6.txt" @ 2016-07-31 14:55:20 
    

    Check what is selected in this tab, as i had a similar problem and found since the update that the inverse of what i had previously selected had been selected causing over 1.5M IP's for this section and using up all the available memory.

    Rob





  • When I try to add a new TLD Blacklist i.e. "Google.com", I get the following error:

    Clearing all DNSBL Feeds…  completed
    Executing TLD
    Blocking full TLD/Sub-Domain(s)... |google.com| completed
    TLD analysis completed
    Finalizing TLD... head: 1: No such file or directory
    tail: 1: No such file or directory
    completed

    Original    Matches    Removed    Final

    0          0          -1        1

    Validating database... completed

    DNSBL enabled FAIL - restoring Unbound conf
    /var/unbound/pfb_dnsbl.conf:1: error: unknown keyword '.google.com'
    /var/unbound/pfb_dnsbl.conf:1: error: unknown keyword '60'
    read /var/unbound/unbound.tmp failed: 2 errors in configuration file

    Any ideas why DNSBL is failing to add the TLD blacklist entries?

    Thanks.



  • Do you have any DNSBL feeds defined and enabled?
    I did put Google.com in the DNSBL TLD Blacklist, ran a Force Reload and things looks ok.

    This is the part of pfblockerNG log after the last DNSBL feed

    [ BBC_C2 ]		 Reload [ 08/08/16 15:25:16 ] . completed ..
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------
      Orig.    Unique     # Dups     # White    # Alexa    Final                
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------
      332      332        331        0          0          1                    
      ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    [ DNSBL_IP ]		 Updating aliastable [ 08/08/16 15:25:22 ]... 
      no changes.
      Total IP count = 280
    
    ------------------------------------------
    Assembling database... completed
    Executing TLD
     Blocking full TLD/Sub-Domain(s)... |google.com| completed
    TLD analysis...xxxxxxxxxxx completed
    ** TLD Domain count exceeded. [ 250000 ] All subsequent Domains listed as-is **
    Finalizing TLD...  completed
     ----------------------------------------
     Original    Matches    Removed    Final     
     ----------------------------------------
     1323464     87716      169286     1154178   
     -----------------------------------------
    Validating database... completed [ 08/08/16 15:31:20 ]
    Reloading Unbound.... completed
    DNSBL update [ 1154178 | PASSED  ]... completed [ 08/08/16 15:32:02 ]
    ------------------------------------------
    
    ===[  Continent Process  ]============================================
    


  • @RonpfS:

    Do you have any DNSBL feeds defined and enabled?
    I did put Google.com in the DNSBL TLD Blacklist, ran a Force Reload and things looks ok.

    No, I only want to block a couple domains and not use any DNSBL lists.

    Must I have a DNSBL list for TLD to work?



  • @coolspot:

    @RonpfS:

    Do you have any DNSBL feeds defined and enabled?
    I did put Google.com in the DNSBL TLD Blacklist, ran a Force Reload and things looks ok.

    No, I only want to block a couple domains and not use any DNSBL lists.

    I solved the issue by create a dummy feed, the inside the feed add the "Custom Block List" this seems to allow the domains to be blocked.

    Is this the expected behaviour?

    Well maybe nobody tested a setup without any DNSBL feed. Using a Custom Block List does create a feed and seems to remove the issue.



  • @RonpfS:

    Well maybe nobody tested a setup without any DNSBL feed. Using a Custom Block List does create a feed and seems to remove the issue.

    BBCan177 got back to me even though he was on vacation (thanks!).

    Basically create a dummy DNSBL feed, in the bottom section called Custom Domains, add the subdomains there. This will block the domains correctly.



  • Hello BBcan177 and pfsense users,

    Great work on pfblockerng. I have one question. I have DNSBL listening port 8081 and when I type 10.10.10.1:8081 I get the gif image. Now when I try the DNSBL SSL listening port 8443 10.10.10.1:8443 I get the connection was reset. So it doesn't work.

    I have been doing some reading on why I was getting the "googleads.g.doubleclick.net" and in one post someone talked about limiters causing problem. I don't have any limiters setup. I think it's because DNSBL SSL isn't working.

    Anyone have an idea why DNSBL SSL isn't working for me ?

    Thanks



  • http://10.10.10.1:8443 return a gif

    It should be https://10.10.10.1:443 but that doesn't return and doesn't it log to dnsbl.log either.



  • I tried https://10.10.10.1:443 and it returned a gif so that works. Anyone else have the google ads certificate popup? I get the popup in Safari and in Firefox I see the error message where the ads used to be.

    It would be nice to have just empty space without the error.

    Thanks Ronpfs for your reply.



  • You have the URL that generate the errors so I can reproduce here?



  • I have been surfing the web to find one. Just cause i'm trying I am having a hard time.

    This site did it once on my desktop but didn't do it on my phone.

    https://www.instantssl.com/ssl-certificate-products/https.html


  • Moderator

    @hulleyrob:

    Check what is selected in this tab, as i had a similar problem and found since the update that the inverse of what i had previously selected had been selected causing over 1.5M IP's for this section and using up all the available memory.

    Rob

    Hi Rob,

    The memory issue will be fixed with v2.1.1_3, however, you don't want to reverse the "Registered" vs the "Represented" entries.  Please refer to the link in the GeoIP tabs "Whats new in GeoIP2" to help you understand the difference between those two types.


  • Moderator

    Here is a link to PR # 175 for pfBlockerNG v2.1.1_3      (This PR first needs to be reviewed and merged by the pfSense Devs)

    The 2.1 release was beta tested for several months with approx a dozen testers with varying hardware (1GB-16GB, i386-AMD64). The MaxMind database is updated the first Tuesday of each month.

    After reviewing the latest MaxMind IPv6 database, you can see below that the IPv6 line count increased 5 fold vs the previous month. This is a significant increase and as such the package required more PHP memory to be able to process the updated MaxMind database. The two Countries that changed significantly are US and DE, so until MaxMind has resolved this issue, you might consider not using those two IPv6 GeoIP lists.

    This month:

    1,147,813 US_v6.txt
    1,137,159 DE_v6.txt

    Last Month:

    222,937 US_v6.txt
    205,571 DE_v6.txt

    I have contacted MaxMind support, to get some clarity on this issue, with the following response:

    Thank you for contacting support. We did also observe a significant increase in IPv6 mappings, due to more specific blocks being mapped, starting with the 2016-07-05 release, and we are currently investigating what may be causing such an increase in the recent releases.

    We do indeed aim to list the IP networks as efficiently as possible to help keep CSV file sizes down, so ideally the file sizes should not continue to increase dramatically once a fix is deployed. However, for the time being, the additional mappings shouldn't adversely affect the lookup results.

    Thank you for the additional information; I've passed along your observations to our developers. At this time, we unfortunately do not have an ETA on a fix, but when I do receive any news, I'll be in touch.

    I have re-factored the code to be able to handle this change in database size. This will reduce the overall PHP memory required. Its not recommended to "Block the world"; however, should your configuration follow this approach, then you may need to increase the pfSense Advanced "Firewall Maximum Table Entries" to 4M (or higher depending on the other Table entry size).

    In my absense (vacation), forum user RonpfS steped up and helped convey some temporary workarounds and help users who were affected by this issue. I would personally like to extend my appreciation for all of his efforts. Its what "Open Source" is all about, and I encourage more people to get involved.

    Everyone needs to bump his Karma! Thanks again!

    Additional Changes:

    • Added a 'placeholder' for undefined MaxMind 'Represented Countries'. This is necessary as month-to-month MaxMind Updates seem to have fluctuations that can cause a list to become undefined/redefined.

    • Improved DNSBL Firewall Permit Rule options (Added OpenVPN, IPsec and Interface group options)

    • Improved removal of DNSBL VIP address mapping when DNSBL is disabled.

    • Added DNSBL parser for Alienvault OTX pulses. This will only collect "Domains". You can add the same feed into the IPv4 tab to collect "IPs".

    • Added a "Disabled" option to the CRON update options.

    • Additions to the DNSBL TLD suffixes

    • Fixed issue with widget not clearing DNSBL packet counts



  • @BBcan177:

    @hulleyrob:

    Check what is selected in this tab, as i had a similar problem and found since the update that the inverse of what i had previously selected had been selected causing over 1.5M IP's for this section and using up all the available memory.

    Rob

    Hi Rob,

    The memory issue will be fixed with v2.1.1_3, however, you don't want to reverse the "Registered" vs the "Represented" entries.  Please refer to the link in the GeoIP tabs "Whats new in GeoIP2" to help you understand the difference between those two types.

    Not sure if we are talking about the same thing there, i was referring to the North American IPV6 tab which my selection from a few countries which i picked changed to unselecting those ones and selecting all the ones i had not picked.

    This is what i meant by it had reversed the selection and seemed to be the cause of all my memory use as you have pointed out its is now several million.

    Rob


  • Moderator

    pfBlockerNG v2.1.1_3 has been approved and merged and is now available to be installed/Upgraded.

    I have noticed that some of the installation log messages are not appearing in the pkg install window. I am investigating that; however, the installation is still occurring in the background.

    The MaxMind conversion will take a few mins to process, so wait for it to complete.

    UPDATE

    I pushed a fix for this just now. The pfBlockerNG version is now 2.1.1_4



  • @BBcan177:

    pfBlockerNG v2.1.1_3 has been approved and merged and is now available to be installed/Upgraded.

    I have noticed that some of the installation log messages are not appearing in the pkg install window. I am investigating that; however, the installation is still occurring in the background.

    The MaxMind conversion will take a few mins to process, so wait for it to complete.

    UPDATE

    I pushed a fix for this just now. The pfBlockerNG version is now 2.1.1_4

    Thanks I noticed that the log while updating to 2.1.1_3 didn't gave sign it finished, after updating to 2.1.1_4 all seems well ;)

    btw I would like to test a php /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng.php dc but as I have dramatically changed the hardware I cannot compare it to when the memory issues occurred (see https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=102470.750 )!

    Cheers Qinn


  • Moderator

    @Qinn:

    Thanks I noticed that the log while updating to 2.1.1_3 didn't gave sign it finished, after updating to 2.1.1_4 all seems well ;)

    It was still running in the background (v2.1.1_3). The issue was that it wasn't printing the log messages to the installation window. So if you would have left it running for a min or so, it would have completed. Its now fixed in v2.1.1_4

    btw I would like to test a php /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng.php dc but as I have dramatically changed the hardware I cannot compare it to when the memory issues occurred (see https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=102470.750 )!

    The code was re-factored to not use as much PHP memory, so hopefully no one else runs into those issues :) Still hoping that MaxMind fixes the issues that caused those two Countries IPv6 entries to explode 5 fold….



  • @BBcan177:

    @Qinn:

    Thanks I noticed that the log while updating to 2.1.1_3 didn't gave sign it finished, after updating to 2.1.1_4 all seems well ;)

    It was still running in the background (v2.1.1_3). The issue was that it wasn't printing the log messages to the installation window. So if you would have left it running for a min or so, it would have completed. Its now fixed in v2.1.1_4

    btw I would like to test a php /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng.php dc but as I have dramatically changed the hardware I cannot compare it to when the memory issues occurred (see https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=102470.750 )!

    The code was re-factored to not use as much PHP memory, so hopefully no one else runs into those issues :) Still hoping that MaxMind fixes the issues that caused those two Countries IPv6 entries to explode 5 fold….

    Thanks for the quick relpy! Yeah, that's the hardest part of coding, making it idiot proof for both users and resources. In this case it was the latter ;)



  • Maybe it's n=1 and is it just me, but after update to 2.1.1_4 unbound won't come up, I did a reboot let's wait and see.



  • Anyone have issues with pfBlocker and Playstation 4 online gaming? While playing online games lag a lot that the only fix was to disable pfb.
    The logs show nothing of what exactly is blocking it.

    Is there a way to exclude the PS4 to not use the service?


  • Moderator

    @jrdnlc:

    Anyone have issues with pfBlocker and Playstation 4 online gaming? While playing online games lag a lot that the only fix was to disable pfb.
    The logs show nothing of what exactly is blocking it.

    Is there a way to exclude the PS4 to not use the service?

    Did you review the pfBlockerNG Alerts Tab? If its being blocked via an IP List, it will show in the logs.  For DNSBL it should also show in the Alerts Tab. For DNSBL there are some further instructions listed in the DNSBL tab which can be seen when you click on the blue infoblock icon in the INFO section.  If it is being blocked by DNSBL and you can't find the Domain thats being blocked, you can set the DNS settings of the LAN device to a different DNS server to bypass DNSBL.



  • Hi @BBcan177
    I just wanted to inform you that the info link/icon (to the right of the update ion), links to the wrong forum thread.

    It's pointing to (pfBlockerNG v2.0 w/DNSBL): https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=102470.0
    When it should be pointing to (pfBlockerNG v2.1 w/TLD): https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=115357.0



  • Moderator

    @brandur:

    Hi @BBcan177
    I just wanted to inform you that the info link/icon (to the right of the update ion), links to the wrong forum thread

    Thanks good catch! Will change that when I submit the next release :)

    Wow! This thread had over 1000 views since last night  ;)



  • @BBcan177:

    @brandur:

    Hi @BBcan177
    I just wanted to inform you that the info link/icon (to the right of the update ion), links to the wrong forum thread

    Thanks good catch! Will change that when I submit the next release :)

    Wow! This thread had over 1000 views since last night  ;)

    That's high 1k over night! For now 2.1.1_4 is running 22 hours without a flaw ;) . I did a php /usr/local/www/pfblockerng/pfblockerng.php dc and all went right (took about 25 min, but that is to be expected as of the dramatic raise of the resources of MaxMind).



  • First of all sorry if this is not in the right forum thread, there is now 3+ active threads for pfbng…

    My problem is with the latest release (2.1.1_4) so I figured this is the right location to post.

    This morning I got the notification that 2.1.1_4 was released which would fix the late php error problems caused by MaxMind.  I immediately updated my package then started pfblockerNG.  Then I went to the force update and did a force update.  All went well, then I did a force reload.  At this moment, the hard drive went crazy for 10min+ and I lost all network connectivity.  Lost contact with pfsense, LAN connectivity and of course lost connectivity to the internet.

    I rebooted the firewall (reset button) then it came back online.  I immediately deactivated pfbng.  After that I got these errors by email:

    
     There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:53: cannot define table pfB_Top_v6: Cannot allocate memory - The line in question reads [53]: table <pfb_top_v6>persist file "/var/db/aliastables/pfB_Top_v6.txt"
    
    There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:199: macro 'pfB_Africa_v4' not defined - The line in question reads [199]: block log  quick  on {  em5  } inet from $pfB_Africa_v4 to any tracker 1770009617  label "USER_RULE: pfB_Africa_v4 auto rule"</pfb_top_v6> 
    


  • Take a look a /var/log/pfblockerng/extras.log, /var/log/pfblockerng/pfblockerng.log, Status / System Logs / System / General, Status / System Logs / System / DNS Resolver, Dashboard for crash report.

    Resolver log won't tell much. On reboot you have to go to Status / Services and restart the unbound service. After the restart, the log will have unbound messages.



  • @lpallard:

    First of all sorry if this is not in the right forum thread, there is now 3+ active threads for pfbng…

    My problem is with the latest release (2.1.1_4) so I figured this is the right location to post.

    This morning I got the notification that 2.1.1_4 was released which would fix the late php error problems caused by MaxMind.  I immediately updated my package then started pfblockerNG.  Then I went to the force update and did a force update.  All went well, then I did a force reload.  At this moment, the hard drive went crazy for 10min+ and I lost all network connectivity.  Lost contact with pfsense, LAN connectivity and of course lost connectivity to the internet.

    I rebooted the firewall (reset button) then it came back online.  I immediately deactivated pfbng.  After that I got these errors by email:

    
     There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:53: cannot define table pfB_Top_v6: Cannot allocate memory - The line in question reads [53]: table <pfb_top_v6>persist file "/var/db/aliastables/pfB_Top_v6.txt"
    
    There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:199: macro 'pfB_Africa_v4' not defined - The line in question reads [199]: block log  quick  on {  em5  } inet from $pfB_Africa_v4 to any tracker 1770009617  label "USER_RULE: pfB_Africa_v4 auto rule"</pfb_top_v6> 
    

    I'm having a very similar problem.  I had uninstalled pfblockerng using the package manager and was waiting for an update to fix the memory problems.  When I installed the latest version, I began getting the following errors:

    
    There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:27: cannot load "/var/db/aliastables/pfB_NAmerica_v4.txt": No such file or directory - The line in question reads [27]: table <pfB_NAmerica_v4> persist file "/var/db/aliastables/pfB_NAmerica_v4.txt" @ 2016-08-24 21:03:13
    There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:27: cannot load "/var/db/aliastables/pfB_NAmerica_v6.txt": No such file or directory - The line in question reads [27]: table <pfB_NAmerica_v6> persist file "/var/db/aliastables/pfB_NAmerica_v6.txt" @ 2016-08-24 21:03:24
    There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:178: macro 'pfB_NAmerica_v4' not defined - The line in question reads [178]: block in log quick on $WAN reply-to ( re0 174.49.92.1 ) inet from ! $pfB_NAmerica_v4 to any tracker 1770009560 label "USER_RULE: pfB_NAmerica_v4 auto rule" @ 2016-08-24 21:03:27
    There were error(s) loading the rules: /tmp/rules.debug:178: macro 'pfB_NAmerica_v4' not defined - The line in question reads [178]: block in log quick on $WAN reply-to ( re0 174.49.92.1 ) inet from ! $pfB_NAmerica_v4 to any tracker 1770009560 label "USER_RULE: pfB_NAmerica_v4 auto rule" @ 2016-08-24 21:03:30
    
    

    The end result for me is that my white list rule allowing only inbound traffic from the U.S. fails to load.  However, I have no problems with other features, (e.g., adblocking).  No errors show up in extras.log or pfblockerng.log.


  • Moderator

    When you uninstalled the pkg previously, did you uncheck "Keep Settings"… If not, some files may have remained.

    I would suggest you goto the pfBlockerNG General tab, and uncheck "Enable pfBlockerNG" and uncheck "Keep Settings", followed by "Save"...    Then reverse this by re-checking both options and "Save".

    Goto the Dashboard and clear any notices so that you are starting fresh...

    Then goto the Update tab and run a "Force Update".

    Then review the pfblockerng.log for any issues (if any).



  • OK so I tried unchecking the "Keep settings" and "Enable pfb" checkboxes then saving.  Then I checked them back on and did a force update.  The process never ended.  45minutes later, everything was dead and the last thing I could see on the WebUI was "Rstsarting Unbound".

    The hard drive gpoes completely off charts while this happens.  I tried getting the system logs after the hard reset but it goes only up to 22:35 which is already 5 minutes after I manually reset the pfsense box.

    Tomorrow I will try to simulate this once more, and gather all logs I will be able to find.  My feeling, somehow, since I lose all network connectivity, is that unbound crashes hard probably due to lack of RAM??  Is it even possible?  I am saying that because when this happens I have network connectivity for a few minutes then everything drops.  Then I cant even connect to my internal clients (same subnet).


Log in to reply