After upgrade to 2.3.2, wanted to revert some patches that had been committed…



  • I had a 2.3.1-DEVELOPMENT system that I had installed some patches to using the System_Patches package.  After 2.3.2 was out, these patches had been committed to the RELENG_2_3_2 branch so I wanted to delete them and revert to the standard/base.  Problem is, after I reverted and deleted the patches, I wound up with the OLD version of 2 .php files (pre-2.3.2 versions)

    To fix this, I decided to try to Gitsync:

    # pfSsh.php playback gitsync RELENG_2_3_2
    

    This worked for one of the files (/usr/local/www/pkg_mgr.php).  For the other file (/usr/local/www/system_patches.php) I just re-installed the System_Patches package, which did work.

    Now I seem to have a proper 2.3.2 install  :)

    Question 1: Is this the right way to have done this?

    Question 2: I have a ~114MB folder called "pfSenseGITREPO" under /root.  Can I delete this?



  • @luckman212:

    I had a 2.3.1-DEVELOPMENT system that I had installed some patches to using the System_Patches package.  After 2.3.2 was out, these patches had been committed to the RELENG_2_3_2 branch so I wanted to delete them and revert to the standard/base.  Problem is, after I reverted and deleted the patches, I wound up with the OLD version of 2 .php files (pre-2.3.2 versions)

    To fix this, I decided to try to Gitsync:

    # pfSsh.php playback gitsync RELENG_2_3_2
    

    This worked for one of the files (/usr/local/www/pkg_mgr.php).  For the other file (/usr/local/www/system_patches.php) I just re-installed the System_Patches package, which did work.

    Now I seem to have a proper 2.3.2 install  :)

    Question 1: Is this the right way to have done this?

    Question 2: I have a ~114MB folder called "pfSenseGITREPO" under /root.  Can I delete this?

    Q1: There are many ways to skin a cat - looks like your method solved your problem  ;)  ;D ;D
    Q2: Yes, you can safely delete that folder without issues - it is a local repository of the pfSense git branch. If you delete this folder and decide to upgrade again via CLI, it will re-download this data (increasing WAN bandwidth and upgrade time) - most people dont have to worry about this as the git repository is relatively small for modern WANs.



  • @Paint:

    Q1: There are many ways to skin a cat - looks like your method solved your problem  ;)  ;D ;D
    Q2: Yes, you can safely delete that folder without issues

    Excellent, thank you!



  • Yeah the only reason to keep the gitrepo directory around is if you want to gitsync again, it'll be much quicker to update the existing than to checkout the entire thing. Outside of that, it has no impact on the system.


Log in to reply