Reverting Config Changes



  • I recently made a few changes to my configuration and then realized I wanted to undo them. I wasn't sure which for the defaults so I couldn't just revert the changes back to them. I have not clicked 'apply changes', but I couldn't figure out how to discard the changes I had made. Is there any way to discard these changes so I can get the 'apply changes' prompt to go away?

    Another question I have is if I want to revert back to old changes, can I go to the configuration history settings, and revert back to an old history, will that undo all changes since that point in the configuration? Or will it just undo that specific change that occurred at the time?

    Is there any way to get rid of the 'apply changes' prompt? At this point I just want to revert back to a state in the configuration history and know that there are not any other changes pending.


  • Rebel Alliance Developer Netgate

    @Atreides:

    I recently made a few changes to my configuration and then realized I wanted to undo them. I wasn't sure which for the defaults so I couldn't just revert the changes back to them. I have not clicked 'apply changes', but I couldn't figure out how to discard the changes I had made. Is there any way to discard these changes so I can get the 'apply changes' prompt to go away?

    The only way to make the button go away is to click it. You can inspect the changes using the configuration history to see what has changed between the different entries. An Apply Changes button only affects certain specific areas. For example editing a firewall rule isn't going to make IPsec offer an Apply Changes button.

    Even if you made no changes on a settings page by opening the page and clicking Save, the Apply Changes button still shows up.

    @Atreides:

    Another question I have is if I want to revert back to old changes, can I go to the configuration history settings, and revert back to an old history, will that undo all changes since that point in the configuration? Or will it just undo that specific change that occurred at the time?

    If you revert to an older configuration in the history, it completely reverts the entire configuration to that point, it does not undo specific changes.

    Is there any way to get rid of the 'apply changes' prompt? At this point I just want to revert back to a state in the configuration history and know that there are not any other changes pending.

    If the configuration looks OK, click the button and it will apply the configuration you have no. It may be a no-op.



  • @jimp:

    @Atreides:

    I recently made a few changes to my configuration and then realized I wanted to undo them. I wasn't sure which for the defaults so I couldn't just revert the changes back to them. I have not clicked 'apply changes', but I couldn't figure out how to discard the changes I had made. Is there any way to discard these changes so I can get the 'apply changes' prompt to go away?

    The only way to make the button go away is to click it. You can inspect the changes using the configuration history to see what has changed between the different entries. An Apply Changes button only affects certain specific areas. For example editing a firewall rule isn't going to make IPsec offer an Apply Changes button.

    Even if you made no changes on a settings page by opening the page and clicking Save, the Apply Changes button still shows up.

    @Atreides:

    Another question I have is if I want to revert back to old changes, can I go to the configuration history settings, and revert back to an old history, will that undo all changes since that point in the configuration? Or will it just undo that specific change that occurred at the time?

    If you revert to an older configuration in the history, it completely reverts the entire configuration to that point, it does not undo specific changes.

    Is there any way to get rid of the 'apply changes' prompt? At this point I just want to revert back to a state in the configuration history and know that there are not any other changes pending.

    If the configuration looks OK, click the button and it will apply the configuration you have no. It may be a no-op.

    Interesting sounds like there should be a 'discard changes' option. Thanks.