Interfaces get mixed



  • I'm using a WAN and LAN connection, with a PPPoE ISP, and noticed that sometimes the interfaces get mixed and the only way I have found to recover is to reinstall from scratch. Even a reset to factory default doesn't change anything.

    What happens is in the WebGui, the LAN gets the exact same page and configs as the WAN. If I try to Save this, my LAN interface gets borked and I must go directly to the console and manually reassign the interfaces.

    Deleting all the interfaces both in the WebGui or at the consoles does no good.
    Resetting to factory default doesn't either

    Everything works fine as long as I don't have anything to change to the LAN interface. Making changes to the WAN interface works fine.

    I think the problem happens when saving then applying the interface changes. If I am unsure if I did click on "Apply Settings" (due to browser glitch or whatever) and click on it again it seems to append the configs to the interfaces file, causing this problem. In earlier builds, when there was no "Apply Settings" and clicking on Save would directly apply the changes, this happened too, possibly when clicking a second time on the Save button before Pfsense had time to get through the first one.

    Does anyone know in which file are stored the interfaces list and parameters so I can delete it and start again without having to reinstall my PfSense everytime this happens?

    Thank you
    Ark



  • Actually you are not supposed to click that button twice though that might be your issue.

    Can you please give me your /conf/config.xml when this happens and teh log output?

    To recover from this you just need to delete this file and restart pfSense it will recover automatically to a previous good one.



  • @ermal:

    Actually you are not supposed to click that button twice though that might be your issue.

    Thanks for the hint but as I explained, it may happens because of a browser glitch. And sincerely, the software should not allow a second click to be accepted while it is still working on applying the first click. I never had such problem with v1.2.

    @ermal:

    Can you please give me your /conf/config.xml when this happens and teh log output?

    To recover from this you just need to delete this file and restart pfSense it will recover automatically to a previous good one.

    It is permanent once it happens. That mean if I reinstall the software, an then someday by mistake I happen to click twice on the Apply button after I made changes to the WAN Connection, I'm dead. I've looked at the config.XML and everything seems to be fine. I'll delete it let it recreate it to see if it works, and will compare both file to see if there is any differences.

    Where does it keep its backup config.XML? Does a reset to factory defaults does the same thing (erase the config.XML)?

    Thanks for the help!
    Ark



  • It should be fixed in next snapshot.


Log in to reply