Uninstalled packages in GUI menu after restore



  • Hello All!  First post  :D

    I recently migrated my pfSense installation to new hardware and I seem to have identified a bug.

    After restoring my configuration (one restore group at a time) I noticed previously installed packages have menu entries but are not installed.
    I migrated from 2.3.1 -> 2.3.3.
    If I click on one, Securita, for instance (:8443/suricata/suricata_interfaces.php), I am greeted with a 404 Nginx page.
    One thing to note is that packages installed and uninstalled after the migration have their UI entries removed like normal.
    I believe the issue is with the XML config not reflecting the currently installed packages?

    Is there an easy way to remove unused packages or can I remove the XML entries manually?

    This is currently not causing issues other than a cluttered UI.

    I have searched and did not find anything related to my issue.

    Any help is much appreciated!


  • Banned

    Reinstall the package (and uninstall again if not wanted any more.)



  • @aalex954:

    Hello All!  First post  :D

    I recently migrated my pfSense installation to new hardware and I seem to have identified a bug.

    After restoring my configuration (one restore group at a time) I noticed previously installed packages have menu entries but are not installed.
    I migrated from 2.3.1 -> 2.3.3.
    If I click on one, Securita, for instance (:8443/suricata/suricata_interfaces.php), I am greeted with a 404 Nginx page.
    One thing to note is that packages installed and uninstalled after the migration have their UI entries removed like normal.
    I believe the issue is with the XML config not reflecting the currently installed packages?

    Is there an easy way to remove unused packages or can I remove the XML entries manually?

    This is currently not causing issues other than a cluttered UI.

    I have searched and did not find anything related to my issue.

    Any help is much appreciated!

    This is not really a bug.  It's just a consequence of how package configurations and the pfSense menu system work.  When you install a package, it writes a section into the config.xml file of the firewall.  In addition to configuration information specific to the package, it also writes information in some pfSense areas telling the firewall where to put the menu entries and what they should say and what files should be launched when they are clicked.

    When you remove a package, those entries are cleaned up from the config.xml.  Here is what likely happened in your case.  You removed the package and your config.xml was cleaned up.  But you later restored a previous version of a config.xml that was created before the package was removed.  Thus all the entries for the package are in the config.xml, but the actual files for the package are not on the firewall (since you previously removed the package which deleted the files).  Hence the 404 errors.

    So @doktornotor gave you the correct solution.  Temporarily re-install the package and then remove it.  That will clean up all the wayward menu entries in config.xml.

    Bill



  • But what to do, if the package is not available anymore?



  • Not really a pfSense question.
    'They' stopped making WordStar, WordPerfect ... Lotus went away.
    Pay-ware and free-ware programs, OS's packages rises, and vanishes.
    'We' adapt.

    The golden rule apply : if there are many users, then 'some one' will support = maintain it. It all depends on many - and one. It's easy to find 'many', if 'one man' does the job well. But this one man is needed.



  • @Gertjan
    Holy cow, i worked through my config file yesterday. Compared it to a fresh installation. There was so much outdated crap in it that was left over the time. Did housekeeping and cleaned up.



  • That config file is very comparable with the Windows Registry, or a file system for that matter.
    Leftovers are not bad thing, they are just not used any more.
    The file tends to be somewhat bigger.
    pfSense settings often get removed are changed during upgrade.
    Settings - entries in the config.xml - created by packages, on the other hand, are most often not removed when uninstalling.


Log in to reply