Backup/Restore



  • When backing up the config and selecting "all" you are given the option not to backup the package section.  When I restored  my PF config I wiped out may installed packages so I have none.  Well that is my guess anyways.

    Is there an easier way to just backup the parts you want without having to go through the process for every part you want to backup?



  • @Jesse7:

    When backing up the config and selecting "all" you are given the option not to backup the package section.  When I restored  my PF config I wiped out may installed packages so I have none.  Well that is my guess anyways.

    Is there an easier way to just backup the parts you want without having to go through the process for every part you want to backup?

    If you want to be able to restore without damaging the package manifest then dont check the box to leave out package
    information.



  • So what is the point of even having that option?

    I can work around it by restoring the config then installing my packages.  Just confused as to why it would touch anything to do with packages when you tell it not too.

    Actually after choosing to backup packages as well with the all option.  It backs up my the packages but if you install new ones retoring the config will again wipe out any packages you had installed since.

    Just an observation,  personally I think it's anoying enough so that I wouldn't bother to use the backup/retore option with all.



  • @Jesse7:

    So what is the point of even having that option?

    I can work around it by restoring the config then installing my packages.  Just confused as to why it would touch anything to do with packages when you tell it not too.

    Actually after choosing to backup packages as well with the all option.  It backs up my the packages but if you install new ones retoring the config will again wipe out any packages you had installed since.

    Just an observation,  personally I think it's anoying enough so that I wouldn't bother to use the backup/retore option with all.

    Because sometimes you want to backup the data without the packages.  Seems pretty logical to me.



  • Because sometimes you want to backup the data without the packages.  Seems pretty logical to me.

    Yeh that is logical, it is why I selected the don't save package data as I wanted to set the settings again from scratch.  Whats not logical is,  why is it wiping installed/different packages, does it have to?  If it does that's fine… just can't think of a good reason for it to do so.

    You think I am crazy don't you?  I guess the way it is all setup doesn't allow for what I am talking about easily.



  • @Jesse7:

    Yeh that is logical, it is why I selected the don't save package data as I wanted to set the settings again from scratch.  Whats not logical is,  why is it wiping installed/different packages, does it have to?  If it does that's fine… just can't think of a good reason for it to do so.

    Because all package data resides in one file, config.xml, which you just replaced.

    @Jesse7:

    You think I am crazy don't you?  I guess the way it is all setup doesn't allow for what I am talking about easily.

    If I thought you where crazy, I would tell you. :)



  • Ok cool I understand. :)


Log in to reply