latency of connection monitoring



  • Does anyone know how to monitor an interface connection latency? is it possible?


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    Your wan connection measures the latency to your gateway out of the box, or any other monitor IP you might want to use..



  • Thank you, it is for my em2. I do not know where the Xbox is connecting but i have latency issues with it despite an open NAT. Only the box on that Ethernet card.
    So I wanted to find out what IPs is the game using and what is my real latency for it....


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    Latency to where your game is going to be is going to be different than what the latency to your gateway is.

    Latency on your lan, ie from your xbox to pfsense should be in less than 1 ms.. Is a lan - if your wifi it could be a bit higher - problem with wifi is it normally has a lot of jitter, etc.

    Shouldn't your game your playing tell you what it is showing for latency?

    Ping pfsense from some device on your network. What does it answer back with for time?

    PING 192.168.3.253 (192.168.3.253) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 192.168.3.253: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.433 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.3.253: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.419 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.3.253: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.409 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.3.253: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.455 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.3.253: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.406 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.3.253: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.403 ms
    ^C
    --- 192.168.3.253 ping statistics ---
    6 packets transmitted, 6 received, 0% packet loss, time 5225ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.403/0.420/0.455/0.032 ms
    

    So latency to pfsense is less than .5 ms...



  • Yrs the game tells me, however only if i pull up a menu while in multiplayer... it's BO4. I suspect, however there to be quite a bit of variation and i would be interested in finding out exactly when i suffer form it more.
    The box tells me it's 25/30ms. but at times i catch it with over 400ms latency, Are bursts of it.


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    What does the quality graph show you for latency to your gateway - does it fluctuate a lot?

    If you saturate your line that latency can for sure go up.. Is your xbox wireless.. LIke I said jitter on wireless can be high..

    Once the packet leaves pfsense - how long it takes to get to answer depends on a whole lot of shit... The only thing you can do to control latency locally is going is to make sure your local network is not the problem..



  • here is the graph. I do not use wireless. I prefer wired.

    PING 172.16.1.1 (172.16.1.1): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.047 ms
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.025 ms
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.031 ms
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.022 ms
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.021 ms
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.022 ms
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.028 ms
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=0.026 ms
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=0.022 ms
    64 bytes from 172.16.1.1: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=0.019 ms


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    .02 to .04 ms??

    WTF dude are you running? Never seen even lan ping times that low..

    0.00003 seconds... Come on...

    Are you pinging the boxes own IP? That is not really a test of network latency..
    That is pfsense pinging itself.. Sure ok if that was high then something major wrong.. But that doesn't tell you how long it takes to get from pfsense to where your going and back ;)



  • yes. what should i ping? The problem is i do nto know which is the server i am connecting too...
    That is why i wanted a monitoring tool so that i can check what the box connects to.
    LOL, my bad, i am a bit unprepared. . .


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    Ping the IP of the game server, ping pfsense IP from a device ON your network.. Not pfsense pinging itself ;)

    Ping your isp gateway from device on your network... That would show you if pfsense slowing you down..



  • PING google.com (172.217.0.14): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=0 ttl=56 time=12.121 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=13.553 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=2 ttl=56 time=11.940 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=3 ttl=56 time=12.815 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=4 ttl=56 time=11.876 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=5 ttl=56 time=11.871 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=6 ttl=56 time=11.564 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=7 ttl=56 time=14.100 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=8 ttl=56 time=13.572 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=9 ttl=56 time=12.026 ms


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    Yeah that looks pretty typical.. and not bad..

    That is some IP on the internet - is that your game server your playing on... That is pretty good to be honest..

    That is a google IP ;)

    Here is that IP from me

    PING 172.217.0.14 (172.217.0.14) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=1 ttl=53 time=13.4 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=2 ttl=53 time=12.0 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=3 ttl=53 time=13.0 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=4 ttl=53 time=11.5 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=5 ttl=53 time=12.5 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=6 ttl=53 time=12.9 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=7 ttl=53 time=11.4 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=8 ttl=53 time=10.6 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=9 ttl=53 time=15.0 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=10 ttl=53 time=13.7 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=11 ttl=53 time=12.0 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.0.14: icmp_seq=12 ttl=53 time=11.4 ms
    ^C
    --- 172.217.0.14 ping statistics ---
    12 packets transmitted, 12 received, 0% packet loss, time 11016ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 10.667/12.495/15.031/1.167 ms
    


  • no, i pinged google. I do not know the address of the server i play on, how can i find that out?


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    look in the game.. What is the FQDN of it - how do you connect to it? Look in pfsense for the connection to the port you use int he state table, etc.



  • the xbox does not tell me where i am connected to unfortunately, i have to use PfSense for it, and i am not sure i know how....
    Everything in Xbox is handled behind the hood. I just launch the game and the multplayer part is activated by default. I select matchmaking and the box handles the deal... but i fear that at times i may be connected quite far away, and that impacts a bit how the game plays.


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    So do you know what port(s) the game uses? Pretty sure you could look it up for firewall for the game... Then look in your state table for destination IPs going to those port(s)



  • Sure,
    TCP: 53, 80, 3074
    UDP: 53, 88, 500, 3074, 3075, 3544, 4500


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    Yeah some of those are BS.. 53 and 88..

    But ok look for some sates in your state table for say 3074 while playing the game..



  • Here are some,

    185.34.107.128:3074 outgoing
    184.155.109.165:3074 incoming
    99.45.180.232:3074 incoming

    Plus these
    172.16.1.10:3074 -> 13.89.46.200:3544
    13.89.46.201:3544 -> 172.16.1.10:3074

    Quite a few states have around 10 packets or just over it. some states have kbps.


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    Great then ping those - what is the latency..


  • Banned

    Like most console games it's likely using p2p for multiplayer, which means one of the players is also the host. So latency will always vary, based on who is hosting the match and how their network holds up/is used. So if your connection is fine there is not much more you can do.


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    ^ exactly!



  • @johnpoz said in latency of connection monitoring:

    .02 to .04 ms??

    WTF dude are you running? Never seen even lan ping times that low..

    0.00003 seconds... Come on...

    Are you pinging the boxes own IP? That is not really a test of network latency..
    That is pfsense pinging itself.. Sure ok if that was high then something major wrong.. But that doesn't tell you how long it takes to get from pfsense to where your going and back ;)

    To PFSense

    C:\Utilities\hrping>hrping -q -t -c 2 -s 0 192.168.1.1
    This is hrPING v5.07.1148 by cFos Software GmbH -- http://www.cfos.de
    
    Source address is 192.168.1.2; using ICMP echo-request, ID=2c37
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 [192.168.1.1]
    with 32 bytes data (60 bytes IP):
    
    [Aborting...]
    
    Packets: sent=32251, rcvd=32251, error=0, lost=0 (0.0% loss) in 1.444008 sec
    RTTs in ms: min/avg/max/dev: 0.001 / 0.072 / 1.346 / 0.015
    Bandwidth in kbytes/sec: sent=1340.061, rcvd=1340.061
    

    Min of 0.001ms

    To the first hop in my ISP

    C:\Utilities\hrping>hrping -q -t -c 2 -s 0 x.x.x.x
    This is hrPING v5.07.1148 by cFos Software GmbH -- http://www.cfos.de
    
    Source address is 192.168.1.2; using ICMP echo-request, ID=ac40
    Pinging x.x.x.x [x.x.x.x]
    with 32 bytes data (60 bytes IP):
    
    [Aborting...]
    
    Packets: sent=1181, rcvd=1179, error=0, lost=2 (0.1% loss) in 2.157322 sec
    RTTs in ms: min/avg/max/dev: 0.156 / 0.256 / 1.425 / 0.144
    Bandwidth in kbytes/sec: sent=32.846, rcvd=32.790
    

    min 0.156ms

    I assume the actual latency is lower, but I see packetloss from the host CPU of the core router not able to keep up.

    You have to do ping floods to get really low measured latency because of CPU context switching. If you send one packet and block waiting, the kernel switching back to the thread takes a really long time relative to 1gb frame switching latency.

    Like this 154us standard ping

    C:\Utilities\hrping>hrping 192.168.1.1
    This is hrPING v5.07.1148 by cFos Software GmbH -- http://www.cfos.de
    
    Source address is 192.168.1.2; using ICMP echo-request, ID=202e
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 [192.168.1.1]
    with 32 bytes data (60 bytes IP):
    
    From 192.168.1.1: bytes=60 seq=0001 TTL=64 ID=4234 time=0.282ms
    From 192.168.1.1: bytes=60 seq=0002 TTL=64 ID=4280 time=0.202ms
    From 192.168.1.1: bytes=60 seq=0003 TTL=64 ID=8788 time=0.154ms
    From 192.168.1.1: bytes=60 seq=0004 TTL=64 ID=bd93 time=0.167ms
    
    Packets: sent=4, rcvd=4, error=0, lost=0 (0.0% loss) in 1.501189 sec
    RTTs in ms: min/avg/max/dev: 0.154 / 0.201 / 0.282 / 0.049
    Bandwidth in kbytes/sec: sent=0.159, rcvd=0.159
    

    Just look at this ping to localhost. It's nearly the same as targeting my gateway

    C:\Utilities\hrping>hrping -q -t -c 2 -s 0 localhost
    This is hrPING v5.07.1148 by cFos Software GmbH -- http://www.cfos.de
    
    Source address is 127.0.0.1; using ICMP echo-request, ID=1c51
    Pinging localhost [127.0.0.1]
    with 32 bytes data (60 bytes IP):
    
    [Aborting...]
    
    Packets: sent=1591, rcvd=1589, error=0, lost=0 (0.0% loss) in 0.055184 sec
    RTTs in ms: min/avg/max/dev: 0.001 / 0.030 / 0.468 / 0.018
    Bandwidth in kbytes/sec: sent=1729.849, rcvd=1727.674
    

    PFSense: RTTs in ms: min/avg/max/dev: 0.001 / 0.072 / 1.346 / 0.015
    Localhost: RTTs in ms: min/avg/max/dev: 0.001 / 0.030 / 0.468 / 0.018

    From what I can google, a context switch on a modern CPU is about 5us. Then you mix in the CPU trying to sleep and all that fun, you're left reading 200us.



  • @grimson Definitely. I am convinced that any latency will be out of my hands for more than the simple reason that it is part of the internet and that depends on the game provider (netcode and latency compensation model), but also because i do not really have the know how for it.
    All i wish to know is when i am affected by higher latency so that i would leave a "bad" lobby for, possibly, a better one.



  • @johnpoz said in latency of connection monitoring:

    Great then ping those - what is the latency..

    sorry for the few hours hiatus. I did ping the above, however packets may be dropped as no ping back is received. I heard most game providers do that, probably to lessen the load on servers that i assume may be running at close to full capacity, and, in a conspiracy theory view.... to hide the fact that servers used may be in a different region or may not be as good as players expect them to be.. LOL.
    The first reason much more likely.

    On PC, the game seems to run better and faster, plus ping is readily available and can be added as an overlay on a corner of the screen, but this is a whole different world.


Log in to reply