pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense



  • @johnpoz said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    @X2LR said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    SystemGeneral Setup DNS Servers 10.0.0.22 (which is my pihole)

    No where did I say anything about that??

    You don't do anything to unbound, or pfsense other than change the IP that gets handed to clients in the dhcp server settings.

    Sorry you are correct I miss read. Is there others correct?



  • @johnpoz So

    Services>DHCP >Server>LAN>Servers

    DNS servers = 10.0.0.22?


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    Exactly..

    Now was that hard ;)

    See my edit on the checkboxes.. The only thing pfsense should point to for dns is itself, 127.0.0.1.. Unbound out of the box will resolve and use dnssec.



  • @johnpoz said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    Exactly..

    Now was that hard ;)

    Thank you.

    last few questions if you don't mind.

    in resolver

    DNSSEC is ticked
    is any of the others ticked at all?
    DNS Query Forwarding etc..

    also in General Setup do you tick or untick
    DNS Server Override
    Disable DNS Forwarder

    Now I know you never said anything about General Setup just don't wont wrong set up in here.

    which dns do yuo use john? ive been using quad9


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    If unbound is resolving you have little reason to allow for dhcp of pfsense wan to set dns for pfsense..

    So unchecked..

    If you check disable forward/resolver - how would pfpsense resolve anything for itself? Since that just removes pointing to 127.0.0.1 for pfsense.

    In unbound, no forwarding is not check.. It resolves out of the box. Yes you would leave dnssec checked if you want it checking for that. That is up to you.. As to other settings in unbound.. I personally use cache prefetch and serve ttl 0, but those have nothing to do with who is asking be it pihole or normal clients, etc. I also set min TTL of 3600.. Only because I despise these 60 second some sites use for ttl.. Have seen zero issues with doing that, but I wouldn't suggest you do anything like that unless you fully understand what it means.



  • @johnpoz said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    If unbound is resolving you have little reason to allow for dhcp of pfsense wan to set dns for pfsense..

    So unchecked..

    If you check disable forward/resolver - how would pfpsense resolve anything for itself? Since that just removes pointing to 127.0.0.1 for pfsense.

    In unbound, no forwarding is not check.. It resolves out of the box. Yes you would leave dnssec checked if you want it checking for that. That is up to you.. As to other settings in unbound.. I personally use cache prefetch and serve ttl 0, but those have nothing to do with who is asking be it pihole or normal clients, etc. I also set min TTL of 3600.. Only because I despise these 60 second some sites use for ttl.. Have seen zero issues with doing that, but I wouldn't suggest you do anything like that unless you fully understand what it means.

    Thanks and yes i don't understand what that means so ill leave that be.

    As for dns i want to use i add that in General Setup? I think ive had it wrongly set up for years i had it in the dhcp part ☹



  • Also you said you can bypass pihole if i wanted to do that for 10.0.0.20 and 10.0.0.22 would that be in pfsense or pihole settings


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    You would do that on the client :) via a dig or nslookup calling out pfsense IP.

    Or sure if you don't want client X using pihole, then setup dhcp reservation for them and have it just ask pfsense directly via dhcp settings. Or you could do on the client directly via static settings.


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    @X2LR said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    As for dns i want to use i add that in General Setup?

    No... You don't put anything in general setup on pfsense.. Pfsense only ever needs to talk ask itself.. Nothing goes in general setup on pfsense. That is the whole point of unbound resolving.



  • @johnpoz said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    @X2LR said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    As for dns i want to use i add that in General Setup?

    No... You don't put anything in general setup on pfsense.. Pfsense only ever needs to talk ask itself.. Nothing goes in general setup on pfsense. That is the whole point of unbound resolving.

    Where would you put dns? (9.9.9.9 ? im lost now.)

    @johnpoz said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    You would do that on the client :) via a dig or nslookup calling out pfsense IP.

    Or sure if you don't want client X using pihole, then setup dhcp reservation for them and have it just ask pfsense directly via dhcp settings. Or you could do on the client directly via static settings.

    Hmmm? sounds very complicated, ill leave that for another day.


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    @X2LR said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    Where would you put dns? (9.9.9.9 ? im lost now.)

    You wouldn't!!! what would be the freaking point of that?

    So you want clients to ask pihole, and then pihole to ask pfsense (Only for local stuff) and then forward to 9.9.9.9?? Sure you could do that... If your going to do, might as well just take pfsense out of the equation and let pihole be your dhcp so it can resolve your local clients and take pfsense out of it for dns/dhcp.

    But now your forwarding - not resolvoing.



  • @johnpoz said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    @X2LR said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    Where would you put dns? (9.9.9.9 ? im lost now.)

    You wouldn't!!! what would be the freaking point of that?

    okay i don't understand this at all than.

    this is what i thought would happen.

    Quad 9 would be my dns
    Pihole would just remove ads and block sites.

    I am clearly misunderstanding this big time.


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    Se my edit... If all you want is quad9 as your dns.. Just have pihole forward to it.. Why would you need pfsense in the mix..

    Nowhere in my discussion of how I am setup did I ever mention pfsense not resolving.. No external name services are needed, or desired if you ask me. If you want pfsense to forward to quad9, then sure you can do that - but you don't need dnssec check on unbound than... If you forward - dnssec is POINTLESS!! Only a resolver can do anything with dnssec.



  • @johnpoz So you don't need any dns if this is the case (3rd party) I would be using the dns my ISP serves me? Virgin media? Im sorry John im no where up to speed with you and im sure my question are frustrating you im sorry... I thought I knew what I was doing clearly not!


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    So it seems you do not understand what a resolver is vs a forwarder?

    Basic
    Resolver, walks down from roots looking for the authoritative ns for a domain.
    resolver
    roots - hey what is NS for .com
    .com NS - what is the NS for domain.com
    domain.com NS - hey what is the A record for www.domain.com

    Next time someone asks for host.domain.com, if the NS for domain.com is still cached, just ask ns domain.com for host.domain.com

    This is how resolving works.. No need for anything setup in pfsense, it knows who the roots are and can glean any other info from their for any other domain your looking for.

    Forwarder.
    Hey 1.2.3.4 (some NS) what is A record for www.domain.com

    If it does not have this cached already, then it can either resolve, or it might forward to something else.. You really have no idea what its doing. It could be resolver, it could be a forwarder you don't really know. All you know is you ask it for something, and you get an answer. Or you don't

    Does that help? Or does it just make things more confusing?

    Somepoint in the asking for dns there has to be a resolver.. Be it who your forwarding to, or somewhere upstream of who they forward too, etc. A resolver is what validates dnssec, forwarding to somewhere and asking for dnssec does nothing but add extra traffic for the query. If the resolver anywhere in you path is doing dnssec, and something doesn't pass dnssec then that info is not going to be passed downstream.

    example.. I ask quad9 for a record that fails dnssec..

    here see quad9 does dnssec validation - so if I ask it for a known record that fails dnssec I do not get an answer

    $ dig @9.9.9.9 www.dnssec-failed.org
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.14.4 <<>> @9.9.9.9 www.dnssec-failed.org
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 21744
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1
    
    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.dnssec-failed.org.         IN      A
    
    ;; Query time: 176 msec
    ;; SERVER: 9.9.9.9#53(9.9.9.9)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Aug 12 08:09:43 Central Daylight Time 2019
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 50
    

    But if I ask something that doesn't do dnssec.. Say 4.2.2.2, or even quad9 different address - it gives me answer even though the dnssec fails, be it I ask for dnssec or not

    $ dig @9.9.9.10 www.dnssec-failed.org
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.14.4 <<>> @9.9.9.10 www.dnssec-failed.org
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 1233
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1
    
    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.dnssec-failed.org.         IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    www.dnssec-failed.org.  7200    IN      A       68.87.109.242
    www.dnssec-failed.org.  7200    IN      A       69.252.193.191
    
    ;; Query time: 145 msec
    ;; SERVER: 9.9.9.10#53(9.9.9.10)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Aug 12 08:13:04 Central Daylight Time 2019
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 82
    

    9.9.9.10 is specific address by quad9 that does not do dnssec validation.



  • @johnpoz wow thank you John. I understand it alot better now I think!

    So if my dns from my ISP is going into pfsense to be resolved when a domain is asked of it. what happens to the dns they send is it just killed of so to speak and pfsense takes over?


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    You mean if your isp dns hands out dns to pfsense.. It would be added added to pfsense dns listing.. And pfsense might ask them if unbound is not working for example.. Ie not running.

    Normally you should prob not let your isp dhcp hand you dns if your going to be using resolver.. There is little point to it, if you unbound is not working for some reason - you prob want to know about it!! DNS not working would be really big clue to check that unbound is running and working ;)



  • @johnpoz said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    You mean if your isp dns hands out dns to pfsense.. It would be added added to pfsense dns listing.. And pfsense might ask them if unbound is not working for example.. Ie not running.

    Normally you should prob not let your isp dhcp hand you dns if your going to be using resolver.. There is little point to it, if you unbound is not working for some reason - you prob want to know about it!! DNS not working would be really big clue to check that unbound is running and working ;)

    Thanks again just didn't want to run the dns Virgin provide but from the sound of it thats the not case thank you again for thw write up and help with pihole seems to be running fine now just wished it would show hostnames not ips but hey! its all good cheers


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    It will show hostnames.. You just need to make sure the hostnames are listed in unbound either via dhcp reservations and registration, or host overrides, or just plain dhcp registration, and you need to allow it to forward the rfc1918 PTRs..

    Hostnames are found via PTR queries, out of the box pihole will not forward these - so you need to make sure that check box is checked, and unbound resolves them.



  • @johnpoz said in pihole on unraid not blocking ads with pfsense:

    It will show hostnames.. You just need to make sure the hostnames are listed in unbound either via dhcp reservations and registration, or host overrides, or just plain dhcp registration, and you need to allow it to forward the rfc1918 PTRs..

    Hostnames are found via PTR queries, out of the box pihole will not forward these - so you need to make sure that check box is checked, and unbound resolves them.

    John that makes close to zero sense to me mate don't worry ill google and see what i can come up with thanks again


Log in to reply