Since upgrade to 2.2 dns for lan is broken



  • This second time lan computers when set to dhcp gets ip address and dns is set to ip on the lan card in pfsense. Lan computers cannot resolve yahoo, google or any other ip's and will not connect to web pages. I also tried to ping with name and will not resolve. When pinging to numerical address it will ping….

    If I change the dns server to 8.8.8.8 manually in the ip configuration of the computer on the lan then every thing works fine.

    This second time it has happened .....the first time I reinstalled pfsense and it worked and broke again in couple of weeks.

    Some thing in pfsense breaks dns server for lan ...

    I can ping google or yahoo from pfsense computer using a keyboard and monitor ....

    Please help



  • Have exactly same problem on fresh install.


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    So on a clean install of pfsense the resolver is used vs the forwarder.  Its quite possible your having issues talking to the roots, and then in turn the authoritative servers for whatever you looking to lookup.

    Its possible your isp is doing something funky with dns queries that breaks this function?  Have you validated the resolver is running, did you try turning on forwarder without shutting down resolver?  check your services, log to see what might be going on with pfsense.

    A simple test would be to from a cmd line or gui interface check that pfsense can lookup stuff itself.  What are you pointing to for pfsense to use for name resolution?

    When you query pfsense for dns what do you get?  Use your fav tool for this, nslookup, dig, drill, etc..  If your having issues with resolver, put it in forwarder mode or turn if off and try using the forwarder (dnsmasq) from previous version of pfsense.



  • very good information and I am newbie ….. not too familiar with linux or pfsense .... step by step will help.

    I think when pinging from pfsense computer fdqn is resolved. I can ping yahoo.com or google.com from the pfsense computer it does resolve.

    Problem is when on the lan computer ..... dns is set to 192.168.1.1 and pfsense is not forwarding or giving connection to the lan computer to resolve fdqn.

    Will greatly appreciate a step by step to fix.


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    so on a windows machine do nslookup.. like this

    C:>nslookup
    Default Server:  pfSense.local.lan
    Address:  192.168.1.253

    www.google.com
    Server:  pfSense.local.lan
    Address:  192.168.1.253

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    www.google.com
    Addresses:  2607:f8b0:4002:c07::67
              74.125.196.147
              74.125.196.105
              74.125.196.99
              74.125.196.103
              74.125.196.106
              74.125.196.104

    What do you get?



  • Here is before using  obtain automatic dns server …...

    nslookup

    DNS request timed out.
            timeout was 2 seconds
    Defualt Server: Unknown
    Address:  192.168.2.1

    www.yahoo.com
    Server: UnKnown
    Address:  192.168.2.1

    DNS request timed out.
            timeout was 2 seconds (repeated 3 more times)
    *** Request ot UnKnown timed out

    After use this setting for dns server .... set to 75.75.75.75 and 8.8.8.8 using network and sharing in windows 7 pro ...

    nslookup
    Default Server: cdns01.comcast.net
    Address: 75.75.75.75


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    well clearly pfsense is not answering your query..  So why is that - simple troubleshooting..  For starters if the forwarder or resolver even running?  Check your services.



  • unbound resolver is stopped …. I tried to restart and not starting.

    Back at work will try to find more articles on what caused that.... I have very rudimentary setup.

    I have taken in back to factory reset and only changed the lan to 192.168.2.x

    Nothing else installed


  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    well if its not running.. That would explain why it didn't even tell you nx, or serv error.

    What does the log say about unbound (resolver) not starting?



  • To fix I went to Services >>> DNS Resolver >>>> unclick Enable DNS Resolver >>>> Save

    went back clicked DNS Resolver >>>> Save and unbound Service started ….

    This must be some type of bug .... Maybe someone will have a solution or an upgrade.

    I am checking this out at home before installing at work .... so far it is a no go .... to temperamental.

    I need to use dansguardian or snort and virus guard of some sort .... may be need to and get paid untangle



  • I'm having a similar issue with Pfsense 2.2.

    I have a clean install of pfsense on esxi and every week or so it will stop responding to DNS queries. I can ping the DNS server (8.8.8.8) just fine from the PC but i'm unable to access any web pages using the domain name. The way to fix this issue for me is to restart the unbound service. I have attached my settings for DNS resolver and the dns servers.

    Here is the output for nslookup:

    www.google.com
    Server:  pfSense.lab.local
    Address:  192.168.1.1

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    www.google.com
    Addresses:  2607:f8b0:4003:c01::67
              74.125.30.104
              74.125.30.147
              74.125.30.105
              74.125.30.103
              74.125.30.99
              74.125.30.106

    I can provide more information if required.





  • LAYER 8 Global Moderator

    There is another thread talking about unbound restarting.. If you are having an issue where unbound is having issue then yes it can stop.

    Look in your logs is unbound restarting or stoping?  If having issues with unbound, switch back to just the forwarder.



  • @johnpoz:

    There is another thread talking about unbound restarting.. If you are having an issue where unbound is having issue then yes it can stop.

    Look in your logs is unbound restarting or stoping?  If having issues with unbound, switch back to just the forwarder.

    Unbound is not restarting on its own. I have to restart the service for it to start responding to DNS queries. i'll try forwarder and see how it works out.



  • Simple question but any idea why pfSense isn't replying with its hostname? nslookup comes back quickly but is listed as "Unknown". Is this a reverse DNS thing?

    C:\Users\Ryan>nslookup
    Default Server:  UnKnown
    Address:  2601:6:7780:581a:20d:b9ff:xxxx:xxxx
    
    > google.com
    Server:  UnKnown
    Address:  2601:6:7780:581a:20d:b9ff:xxxx:xxxx
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    google.com
    Addresses:  2607:f8b0:4006:80d::1000
              74.125.226.66
              74.125.226.69
              74.125.226.64
              74.125.226.68
              74.125.226.78
              74.125.226.71
              74.125.226.70
              74.125.226.65
              74.125.226.72
              74.125.226.67
              74.125.226.73
    
    >
    


  • bump


Log in to reply