Pfsense and switch problems

• Hi pfsense forum

I have just bought an alix apu board with pfsense preinstalled. I have updated pfsense to version 2.2.4.

I have this setup: Internet–---Pfsense router------5 port d-link switch-----24 port tp-link gigabit switch------computers and wifi accesspoints

My problem is, that I lose connection to the router from the LAN site. I cannot access the Internet or the WebGui. When I shut the 24 tp-link switch off for a few seconds and I can again access the router and the Internet for a few minutes until the connection disappears again.
    I am totally at a loss about, what is happening. I am a total newbie in this. I actually think, that the lan connection becomes so slow, that the browser times out.

I have tried taking out the network cable shortly between the d-link and the tp-link instead of switching the tp off. It did not work.

I have tried removing the connection between the d-link switch and the tp-link and connecting a computer to the d-link switch. It works perfectly and stable.

I have tried replacing the tp-link switch with an older 100 mbps 20 port 3-com switch. It didn't work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• Take the D-Link out of the picture completely and see if that clears things up.

• Internet –-- pfSense Where here in this picture is the modem? Is there a modem or a second router in the game?
    And yes I would be also putting the D-Link away, what kind of switch is the D-Link, 100 MBit/s?
    Perhaps a Duplex miss match?

I have just bought an alix apu board with pfsense preinstalled.

From where you got it? Varia or pfSense store?

I have updated pfsense to version 2.2.4.

And did you must reassign the LAN Ports over the console?

• Thank you for your answers.

I have a fibermodem between the pfsense and the Internet.
    I have no other router disturbing things.

I have removed the D-link switch - but with no luck.