Intallation onto Transcend IDE Flash

• Hi,

I'm fairly new to PFSense, having tried it over the last couple of weeks on a test platform.  I'm looking to use it to replace several FreeBSD firewalls I have here on campus.  The existing machines work well using IPFilter, but I want to replace them with something that has a strong web GUI for those who work here who may not know FreeBSD as well as I do.

I have installed 1.0.1 onto a Dell Optiplex GX260 (P4 2.5GHz 512MB) with no issues using an IDE hard drive, and Intel network cards.  So far, I really like what I see.

Here is the problem I am having:

I want to replace the IDE hard drive with a Transcend 4GB IDE flash module.  (http://ec.transcendusa.com/product/ItemDetail.asp?ItemID=TS4GDOM40V)    This is because I have had hard drive failures in the past that I just don't want to deal with anymore.  I understand that flash drives still fail, but if I don't use swap space, I'll feel better about not having moving parts.

I've booted off the CD, and been able to get the network cards configured with no problem.  When I go into the installation screens, I see the flash drive no problem, and I am able to partition and format the disk.  I can then install the bootblocks, and create the slices on the disk, and run newfs on them.  The problem comes when I go to install the system.  It gets about 41% of the way through the                                              cpdup process, and just hangs at "/usr/local/bin/cpdup -vvv -I -o /usr /mnt/usr".  Eventually after hanging for quite a while, the system reboots automatically with only part of the pfsense install.

Am I having hardware support issues here, or is there something different that I have to do when using a flash disk?  If I have to, I'll stay with a regular hard drive, but I would love to get into this IDE Flash.

Thanks in advance.

• Try the latest snapshot. It runs a newer freebsd. maybe that version works better for you.