How to manually delete an orphaned route?



  • I was experimenting with OpenVPN and tried some subnetting that didn't work out like I hoped it would.  Apparently, when I created an OpenVPN client, a route got set up automatically if I configured the tunnel settings with a remote network address.  I'm OK with that.  I subsequently deleted my OpenVPN configuration, but the routing table still has the route.  It seems to me that if the OpenVPN package is smart enough to know it needs to add a route, it ought to be smart enough to delete the route if it's no longer needed.

    How can I manually delete the route that was left behind?  I tried "ip route show" on the command line (planned to turn around and use the route in "ip route delete"), but got an error msg that "ip" wasn't a valid command.  Thanks!



  • "route delete x.x.x.x" where x.x.x.x is the network address in question.


Log in to reply