Yeah just do that.
It is possible to disable the pkg reinstall process but not in any easy way. For example if you interrupt the boot and go into single user mode you can remove the 'needs_package_sync' file from /conf. If you're running ZFS that's a bit involved but possible.
You could probably also comment out the check in rc.bootup but that's likely more error prone.